Whitehall Historical Preservation Society

​​​​Built by Peter Grim in 1807, the Helfrich Springs Grist Mill was placed on the National Register of Historical Sites in 1977. The Whitehall Historical Preservation Society began preservation of the Helfrich Springs Grist Mill in 1984 with the hope that the mill would someday become the hub for all future projects and programs while standing as a museum of Whitehall Township’s colorful and unique history.

Today, we have achieved that goal. The Helfrich Springs Grist Mill is open to the public for our regular monthly meetings, special events and by appointment. Call 610-776-7280 for hours.

Building preservation was accomplished with financial grants obtained from The Century Fund, the PA Historical and Museum Commissions, The Lehigh County Board of Commissioners, SPOOM and the Whitehall Township Commissioners and Recreation Commission along with fundraising events and generous public contributions.

The Society has recently begun restoration of the Peter Grim Homestead, which was the miller’s residence built in 1834. In October 1999, this building was also placed on the National Register of Historical Sites. Restoration is in progress and plans are to reflect a circa 1840’s era home. A genealogical research library as well as the Society’s office headquarters are located in this building.